Chick Corea – Secret Agent ( Polydor / 1978 )

With three studio recordings and two live albums, 1978 was a record breaking year for Chick Corea in terms of productivity. Secret Agent is one of these studio albums with a rich orchestration featuring a horn section and a string trio additional to the previous RTF concept. The intelligent brass arrangement creates dramatic tension throughout the album suiting its title. Slinky’s elegant suspense reminds the film scores of the 70’s. Even on Glebe St. Blues, the sharp and rhythmic support of the brass section steals the show, although the song is written for Gayle Moran’s vocal lead. And of course, we love ‘Fickle Funk’ with its playful melody adorned with the bright solos of Allen Vizzutti on flugelhorn and Joe Farrell on soprano sax.

Track Listing :

1. Golden Dawn
2. Slinky
3. Mirage
4. Drifting
5. Glebe St. Blues
6. Fickle Funk
7. Bagatelle, No. 4  (Bela Bartok)
8. Hot News Blues
9. Central Park

All songs composed by Chick Corea

Musicians / Personnel :

Chick Corea – piano, synth, percussion, vocals
Allen Vizzutti – trumpet, flugelhorn
Bob Zottola – trumpet
Ron Moss – trombone, bass trombone
Jim Pugh – trombone, bass trombone
Joe Farrell – flute, alto flute, bass flute, tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
Bunny Brunel – fretless bass
Tom Brechtlein – drums
Airto Moreira – percussion
Charles Veal- violin, viola
Carol Shive – violin, choir
Paula Hochhalter – cello, choir
Gayle Moran – vocals
Al Jarreau – vocals

Recorded at Producers Workshop Los Angeles, CA