Jeff Lorber Fusion – Wizard Island (Arista / 1980)

This innovative and intensive album has a special place in our record collection as a milestone in the jazz fusion genre. We were surprised by its uniqueness when it first came out. Our favorite pieces are “City” and the beautifully sentimental ballad “Reflections”. Also, don’t miss out “Roof Tops” and the duel between Jeff Lorber on acoustic piano and Chick Corea on Moog synthesizer.

Track Listing :

1. Wizard Island
2. Sweet
3. Can’t Get Enough
4. Reflections
5. Fusion Juice
6. Lava Lands
7. Shadows
8. City
9. Rooftops

Musicians / Personnel :

Jeff Lorber – Electric Piano, Acoustic Piano, Keyboards, Synthesizers
Danny Wilson – Bass
Dennis Bradford – Drums
Jay Koder – Jazz & Acoustic Guitar
Kenny Gorelick – Flute, Soprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone
Paulinho Da Costa – Percussion
Chick Corea – Moog synthesizer (Rooftops)