Weather Report – Mysterious Traveller (Columbia / 1974)

This great album made Weather Report a power band and was named ‘Record of the year’ in the ‘Down Beat readers poll’ in 1974. With Alphonso Johnson on bass (except “American Tango” with Miroslav Vitous) and Ishmael Wilburn on drums joining the band, their music takes a groovier turn. Original as ever and without compromising from musicianship, Zawinul puts more emphasize on composition rather than the experimental improvisational style of their previous albums. The result is the unmistakable, warm, otherworldly tone of Weather Report, starting right with the title song. “Mysterious Traveller was another step, somewhere else”, said Zawinul. It was definitely a step into their own signature sound.

Track Listing :

1. Nubian Sundance
2. American Tango
3. Cucumber Slumber
4. Mysterious Traveller
5. Blackthorn Rose
6. Scarlet Woman
7. Jungle Book


Musicians / Personnel :

Josef Zawinul – Electric piano, acoustic piano, synthesizer, kalimba, organ
Wayne Shorter – Soprano and tenor sax, tack piano
Miroslav Vitouš – Upright bass (track 2 only)
Alphonso Johnson – Electric Bass
Ishmael Wilburn – Drums
Skip Hadden – Drums (tracks 1 and 4 only)
Dom Um Romao – Percussion, drums
Ray Baretto – Percussion (Track 3 only)
Produced By: Wayne Shorter and Josef Zawinul
Sound Engineeer: Ron Malo
Recorded at Devonshire Sound North Hollywood, California