David Matthews – Super Funky Sax ( GNP Crescendo / 1984 )

Here comes the former James Brown arranger David Matthews with a jazz funk masterpiece that hits the heart of SomehowJazz’ music taste and makes it to the top 10 of our favorite album collection. All pieces are composed and arranged by Matthews, together with his all NewYorker team he creates a sound that is amazingly rich with jazz funk and Latin influences. We love “Noches Calientes” with David Spinozza’s incredible solo. Neil Jason’s bass line on “The Return of Zorro” is a fantastic studio performance. The three sax arrangement and Michael Brecker’s solo on “Super Groove” are amazing. A totally underrated album that has no comparison. Just listen!

Track Listing :

1. Super Groove
2. Mika
3. Noches Calientes
4. Sedity
5. Black River Rhapsody
6. The Return of Zorro


Musicians / Personnel :

David Sanborn – alto sax
Michael Brecker – tenor sax
Ronnie Cuber – baritone sax

David Spinozza – electric guitar
Don Grolnick – electric piano
Cliff Carter – synthesizer
Neil Jason – electric bass
Andy Newmark – drums
Sammy Figueroa – percussion

All Tunes Composed and Arranged by David Matthews

Produced by David Matthews
Executive Producer – Shigeyuki Kawashima
Recorded and Mixed by David Palmer
Assistant Engineer – Joel Kohn
Mastering Engineer – Shogo Sakamaki

Recorded at Electric Lady Studio, New York