George Duke – Feel ( Basf MPS / 1974 )

This is the beginning of George Duke‘s unique style, the album in which he started “experimenting” as he calls it himself, with synthesizer orchestration. While playing with the huge capacity of electronic keyboards and synthesizers, he amazes us with the sophistication of his musicianship and the soulfulness of his melodies. The album is also a recording engineering masterpiece by Kerry McNabb. We love “Yana Aminah” with Flora Purim’s great vocal contribution and “Love” with Frank Zappa alias Obdewl’l X’s guitar solo. But the title song “Feel” is and remains one of our all time favorites.
We’ll miss you George. R.I.P.


Track Listing :

1. Funny Funk
2. Love
3. The Once Over
4. Feel
5. Cora Joberge
6. Old Slippers
7. Theme From The Opera
8. Yana Aminah
9. Rashid
10. Statement


Musicians / Personnel :

George Duke – Keyboards, Vocal
Leon Chancler (Ndugu) – Drums, Percussion
John Heard – Electric and Acoustic Bass
Airto Moreira – Percussion
Flora Purim – Vocal
Frank Zappa alias Obdewl’l X – Guitar
Kerry McNabb – Recording Engineer
Baldhard Falk – Producer