Alphonso Johnson – Moonshadows ( Epic / 1976 )

“Moonshadows” This studio album released in 1976, is an important building stone of progressive funk music. Full of fresh and innovative ideas, it truly reflects the artistic spirit of the seventies. We love the lively pieces “Stump” and “On The Case” and also spacey “Amarteifio“, the song tailored for Flora Purim’s lovely voice that melts into the sound perfectly.


Track Listing :

1. Stump
2. Involuntary Bliss
3. Cosmoba Place
4. Pandora’s Box
5. Up from the Cellar
6. Amarteifio
7. On the Case
8. Unto Thine Own Self Be True


Musicians / Personnel :

Alphonso Johnson – Vocals
Chapman Stick [Electric Stick] – Bass
Ndugu Leon Chancler – Drums
Narada Michael Walden – Drums, Keyboards
Lee Ritenour, Chris Bond, David Amaro, Blackbird McKnight – Guitar
Patrice Rushen – Keyboards
Ian Underwood – Keyboards, Programmed By [Synthesizer Programming]
Dawilli Gonga – Keyboards, Vocals
Alphonse Mouzon – Orchestra [Orchestron], Voice, Choir, Keyboards
Airto Moreira, Alejandro Acuna – Percussion
Bennie Maupin – Reeds
Gary Bartz – Soprano Saxophone
Flora Purim – Vocals